The RL&L News – Benchmark Litigation Stars, A Ninth Circuit Lawyer Representative, and A ‘Rising Star’

Attorneys Rebecca O’Brien and Michael J. Rusing have been selected as 2017 Benchmark Litigation Stars. This marks the third consecutive year that Attorney O’Brien has been chosen as a Local Litigation Star along with veteran Mick Rusing, who has also been selected by Benchmark Litigation multiple times.

Benchmark Litigation publishes an annual guide of top firms and attorneys after months of research and interviews with leading litigators in all 50 states. Firms and attorneys are rated from a national and state perspective. “The list of ‘local litigation stars’ for each state reflects only those individuals who were recommended consistently as reputable and effective litigators by clients and peers”, the publication says in describing its methodology.

Attorney Mark D. Lammers was appointed by the Honorable Judge Collins as a Ninth Circuit Lawyer Representative for the State of Arizona. Mark will serve a three year term lasting through 2019.

Arizona’s Lawyer Representatives attend the annual Circuit Conference and meet periodically with Arizona’s District Court Judges, Bankruptcy Court Judges, and Magistrate Judges to discuss potential improvements to court operations and procedures.  In addition, the Lawyer Representatives play a leading role in organizing the annual Arizona District Conference for Federal Judges and practitioners.

One of the important roles of the lawyer representatives is to foster open communication between judges and attorneys, as well as provide support and advice in the functioning of the Court.

Attorney Patricia Waterkotte was awarded a Junior Achievement Champion Award and was presented with a ‘Rising Star’ at Junior Achievement’s recent Annual Recognition Show.

The Champion Award is given to those members reaching or exceeding fundraising goals of $10,000.  As a board member of the Southern District, and a newly presented ‘Rising Star’, Patricia was honored to become a member of the Junior Achievement State Board of Directors as well.